Endings and Beginings

All’s been quiet on my blog for a while now but I am back to report some big news! Yes! All going well, by the end of this month, it will be time, (once again), to move my Tiny House! However, this time, it is headed to its new home, rather than another work site. There will still be some tasks to complete like painting, laying the flooring, purchasing and installing a stove and countertop, not to mention the finishing of the cabinetry, but all of this will be completed from my new location! (And really, one can ask, is a home ever truly finished?) Most of this progress has been captured on Instagram, but for those who are happier blogging than scrolling, this post is for you!

In terms of getting to this stage, the last couple of months of work on the Tiny House have been, for the most part, enjoyable! The walls are entirely clad and trimmed, the lights are installed, and I have moved in all of the fixtures that I have built along the way, (some which have long been collecting dust). These still need a lick of paint or a wipe of stain, but it’s been brilliant to finally see the space come together. As the interior filled in, I felt the space shrinking, (inevitable when an empty space becomes a bathroom, kitchen, living room and bedroom), but now I am deeply happy with the space, in fact, I love it.

Over the years, I have spent a lot of time cursing the decision to undertake this project, and you can’t help but wonder whether it was money and time sensibly spent, but I’m beginning to feel the reward of perseverance. The house may no longer resemble what I first set out to build, both in terms of appearance and the way of life it represents, but it perfectly suits who I am now, at the age of 27, (almost 28!), and I look forward to seeing it continue its evolution in its new location.

The last few weeks here will see me working on the shelving and drawers for the cabinets and then I shall be packing all my belongings and materials inside the space for the big move! I must say, I will really miss being here on the farm, but it is due time to shake things up and try new things. Equally exciting and daunting!

10 thoughts on “Endings and Beginings”

  1. Very glad to see your project has been so successful! Good luck with the move. I’m sure you’re going to enjoy this little house. There is something so enormously satisfying from seeing the successful completion of your own work like this.

    And as for your question, “is a home ever truly finished?” the answer is, as you already know, no, it isn’t. 🙂 I’ve been living in my house for more than 20 years now, and it’s about 100 years old. There is the usual maintenance of course, but other than that we’re always fiddling with things to make the place look more attractive, more convenient to live in, etc. Houses are like living things, they grow, shrink, change and adapt over the years while they are occupied.

    Like

    1. Thank you! Yes, I hope so! Wow, 100 years, that house would have gone through many transformations over the years! But yes, even in 20 years a home can change greatly! When I look back at the photos of my family home when I was a child, I am always surprised to see just how bare it was! By the time we packed it up and sold it earlier this year- it was a vastly different space! Even as a teenager I was constantly rearranging my room! I think, especially in a small space like this, there will be quite a bit of experimentation as I nut out the best storage solutions.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love what you have done Fiona and have enjoyed watching your progress with this amazing project. I don’t think any of us ever really finish our space, it’s an evolving thing on so many levels but I think the idea of a stove and flooring is a good idea! 😉 The big question is where are you moving to? Are you planning to be closer to where your mum and dad are now? I seem to remember your dad saying you were a 9 hour drive away. Whatever your plans I hope it all works out well for you and many happy returns for your immanent 28th. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you Dave!! Well actually, Mum and Dad will be my new neighbours- they’ve got a small paddock going spare next to their home and that will be where my tiny house will be situated for the foreseeable future!(So, in hailing distance when Dad has technical difficulties!) 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha, I’m sure he’ll love that and if I ever get to visit at some point in the future I won’t have to go far to see you either. 🤗 Hope the moves goes well for you all. Exciting times. Have a great birthday. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow Fi, it’s looking great! The fittings have definitely filled some space, but it will be perfectly compact and cosy … very exciting! See you soon!
    Mum x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.